Review of “Dead for the Money” by Peg Herring and Narrated by JoBe Cerny

Dead for the Money (Dead Detective Mysteries, #2)Dead for the Money by Peg Herring
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It was ever so close to a five-star book for me. The thing that knocked it down to a four star was that I was suspicious of the person who turned out to be the killer without being too suspicious of the other characters who could have been the killer. I guessed the killer before the end, and I like mysteries that keep guessing right up to the big reveal at the end.

Having said that, it is still a solid four star listen and I would recommend it to others who love mysteries. I love Peg Herring’s paranormal twist to it. I would imagine that if you have read or listened to the first book that you probably already know what I am talking about. For those who haven’t, I won’t give it away.

JoBe Cerny does a good job narrating the characters in the book, even if the voice of Brody is less than stellar. I thought it was a bit cartoonish for my tastes. Other characters sound like emphysema patients that are still smoking (with their gravelly voices). I couldn’t do any better so I will give him four stars as well.

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review!

View all my reviews

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Audio Books, Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

