Review of “Pentecostalism: A Guide for the Perplexed”

Pentecostalism: A Guide for the PerplexedPentecostalism: A Guide for the Perplexed by Wolfgang Vondey
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I generously gave this book three stars when I really felt like it deserved two. Then I started thinking about how I wasn’t really the target audience. It’s really geared towards more academically inclined people as is evident by the liberal use of fifty dollar plus words that I have never heard in my lifetime. A large number of them are not even in the dictionary, which I made heavy use of.

Despite this, there was quite a lot of information in this book that I was unaware of or was presented from a perspective that I had not considered before. Each chapter covers a different aspect of Pentecostalism and is relatively short being around 20 to 22 pages each ( approximately).

When reading about things that I was familiar with, I found the information to be very accurate so I have confidence that the new information was just as accurate. Still, I can’t give the book more than three stars because it was difficult for me to follow the narrative most of the time, and I found myself having to go back and reread passages several times which made it take that much longer to finish reading the book. Had I been more academically inclined, I may have gotten more out of the book and been able to give it a higher rating. Then again, maybe not. I got the book from Logos.com and found that the average rating was only 2 stars, Which as I said earlier is what I really felt it deserved.

The crux of this book can be summed up in this quote from the epilogue of the book. “At the end of this brief guide, we arrive at yet one more perplexing insight: To understand Pentecostalism, one has to look beyond Pentecostalism.”

In spite of the low ratings, I do think that this book is worth reading. Just keep a really good dictionary close at hand when you do.

View all my reviews

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

