Review of “The Deadly Trade” by Ken Morris and Narrated by Bill Lord

The Deadly TradeThe Deadly Trade by Ken Morris
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is my first Ken Morris Thriller and I very much enjoyed the story. I really like how he kept the story moving along without getting bogged down in unnecessary details like so many thrillers I have read or listened to do. I would have listened to it all at once straight through without stopping if I had had the time. Alas, one must sleep sometime.

The narration I am not so excited about. While Bill Lord is by no means the worst narrator I have listened, I felt he was mediocre at best. Sometimes he would use different voices for each character and do so quite well, but far too often during dialogue exchanges I found myself totally confused over who was doing the talking because there was no differentiation between the voices. Inconsistency is what makes me give Mr. Lord an average rating of three stars.

Overall I would give this book a rating of 3.5 stars, but must round up since Audible doesn’t allow for partial stars.

In a nutshell, excellent story but only average narration.

I received this audio book from the narrator in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Audio Books, Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

