Review of “Lonesome Dove” by Larry McMurtry and Narrated by Lee Horsely

Lonesome DoveLonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I finished Lonesome Dove early this morning and really enjoyed it. I can see why my father liked the book so much. My favorite character has to be Augustus (Gus). However, having said that I could only give the story 3.5 stars because of the language. There were thankfully no F bombs but there was a semi-liberal use of taking the Lord’s name in vain which I am also ultra sensitive to.

The narration was first rate, Five Stars. I have no complaints at all. Lee Horsely did an awesome job. He was perfectly suited for this book.

I do, however, have two complaints about the recording. One is that there is so much hiss in the recording it sounds like it was duplicated from a bad cassette tape recording. The audiobook was recorded in 1992 when digital recording for CD’s was common so why there is so much hiss in it is beyond me. It needs to be remastered to remove all the noise which can be distracting and annoying during long listening sessions. The second thing that bugs me is that there are no chapter breaks. Each chapter is about 45 minutes long and there is nothing to indicate when you have gone from chapter one to chapter two, etc. For me, listening at night before bed, it made it impossible to know when to set the sleep timer for “end of chapter” without constantly checking to see what chapter I was on and how much time was left in it.

Overall, though, it was a very good book, and I can recommend it (sans the bad language). I rounded the story up to four stars for Goodreads and Audible.com.

View all my reviews

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Audio Books, Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

