Review of “On Basilisk Station” by David Weber and Narrated by Allyson Johnson

On Basilisk Station (Honor Harrington, #1)On Basilisk Station by David Weber
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I enjoyed this audio book, but I have to say that when I read the print book I don’t remember there being this much cursing and swearing in it.

There was really only one main character, and that was Honor Harrington. However, I feel that all of the characters were well developed for the most part. The story was well written but for a wee bit too much info dumping for my tastes. I understand it though. This is the first volume of a very large series of books, and the author was trying to give as much information in this book as he could so that there would not be as much to have to convey in later books so I am willing to give it a pass on this book. If I get further into the series and there is still a lot of info dumping, then I might have to rethink whether or not I want to continue with the series. I want story, and action, and emotions from the characters, not a sci-fi or political object lesson.

The narrator could have been better. The best I can give her is three stars. There were several places where her emoting of the words didn’t match the action that was going on. For example, in the final battle scene Honor asks one of her crew to do something to assist with the intense battle that is going on in this ship that is almost crippled, and when she says “Thank You” you would have that she had just asked the crewman to bring her a cup of coffee instead of asking him to take over a battle critical station. Much too casual for any commander. Johnson doesn’t seem to have actually read the book before she narrated it. At the very least she needs some acting lessons for voice over artists so she knows when to be gentle and lilting and when to be forceful and commanding.

I will continue with the series for another book or two to see if both Weber and Johnson work out the kinks, but this series is far too long to continue too far into it without thoroughly enjoying it. I give this book three stars for Performance, three stars for story and three stars overall. Let’s see if it gets any better from here.

View all my reviews

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Audio Books, Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

