Review of “Catholic for a Reason: Scripture and the Mystery of the Family of God” Edited Scott Hahn Ph.D., and Leon J. Suprenant, Jr.

Catholic for a Reason: Scripture and the Mystery of the Family of GodCatholic for a Reason: Scripture and the Mystery of the Family of God by Scott Hahn
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I really did enjoy this book. Twelve authors contributed to the thirteen essays on various aspects of the Catholic church’s take on the Family of God.

My favorite authors were Scott Hahn, Kimberly Hahn, Curtis Martin and Kris Gray. As with any book of this type where you have multiple contributing authors, some of the essays were more readable than others. I personally preferred the ones that didn’t use so many footnotes. Every time I have to leave the text to jump down and read a footnote it takes me some time before I can find the place where I left off due to eyes that have seen better days. It is hard for me to find the tiny little footnote numbers to find the place where I left the text.

Other writers seemed to forget at times that they were writing this book to people who have little experience with the Catholic faith. It is, after all, a book of apologetics and is geared toward Catholics who want to know more about their faith and non-Catholics who want to know more about the Catholic faith.

This is actually volume one of a four volume set. Having enjoyed my experience with this volume I will most definitely be reading the others. I can recommend this book for anyone who wants to know what the Catholic church really believes as opposed to what most Protestants want you to THINK the Catholic church believes.

Archbishop Fulton J. Sheen rightly observed back in the 1950’s that “there are not 100 people in this country who hate the Catholic church, but there are millions who hate what what they wrongly believe to be the Catholic church.” This book and series is an effort to educate the lay person as to what the Catholic church really believes and to do it in clear and concise language that is easily understood. So far, it succeeds marvelously.

View all my reviews

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

