Review of “Understanding ‘Our Father'” by Scott Hahn

Understanding “Our Father”: Biblical Reflections on the Lord’s Prayer by Scott Hahn
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I very much enjoyed this book but I did not give it 5 stars. I would have if it had stopped with Scott Hahn’s discourse on the “Our Father”. However, Hahn adds four chapters at the end of the book from various saints that I felt were a bit long winded and at times confusing. Don’t get me wrong. They made for some interesting reading, but they did not always agree with each other on what each of the seven petitions of the Our Father meant. Perhaps Hahn intended to show differing viewpoints from them, but to me it would have been more effective to include discourses from people who reinforced his own points that he made in Part 1 of the book.

In any case, it was still a four star read, and I will no doubt read it again, probably more than once. I am a fan of Scott Hahn’s writings because he takes subjects that I am interested in and opens up the scriptures and sacred Tradition to explain them in ways that I never considered before, and he does so while being very clear and concise. I wouldn’t mind sitting in on his Theology and Bible classes at Franciscan University of Steubenville (OH).

View all my reviews

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

