Review of “Fortune’s Pawn” by Rachel Bach and Narrated by Emily Durante

Fortune's Pawn (Paradox, #1)Fortune’s Pawn by Rachel Bach
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I give this audiobook about 3.5 stars out of 5. This is one of those books that I believe would be much better read than listened to. This book gets raves from so many people, and to be honest I did enjoy the story very much. I just did not care for the narrator.

I understand using a woman to narrate the story since the protagonist is a woman. But they should have picked someone that could add some real emotion to it. The battle scenes that should have been exciting to listen to just fell totally flat. Even when Devi finally makes love to Rupert,whom she has fallen in love with, I found myself yawning.

Next time I check this book out of the library I am going to read it in print so that the theater in my head called my imagination can do justice to this fine work of Sci-Fi.

View all my reviews

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Audio Books, Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

