Review of “Yes Please” by Amy Poehler and Narrated by Amy Poehler

Yes PleaseYes Please by Amy Poehler
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I did not think that this book was that funny, even in the last chapter which she records in front of a live audience who all seemed to be roaring with laughter at literally every word (even the ones that were not intended to be funny).

Maybe it’s just me, but I seem to be among the few who don’t think Amy Poehler is that funny. She’s only 10 years younger than me so I would have thought that I might find at least part of this book mildly amusing, but no! If I laughed at least once I can’t remember where it would have been. Her liberal use of salty language was a major turnoff for me. She seems to have a penis fixation as the male part plays a prominent role in many of her stories. I thought that was totally unnecessary.

I mean, when I received this for our book club listen for this month I really wanted to love it. It had been on my Audible wish list since early last March. I was so excited to receive it that I couldn’t wait to listen to it. Before it was over I couldn’t wait for it to end hoping against hope that I would be entertained by it. Earlier this year I listened to Martin Short narrate his memoir “I Must Say” and loved it from beginning to end. I even cried at one point near the end when he spoke about the love of his life, his dear wife, losing her fight with cancer. I was touched by it. This book had no moments like this in any way; no moments that I could point to and say “I really loved the part when…”

I cannot recommend this book as much as I want to be able to. The only reason it gets three stars overall is because of Poehler’s performance as a narrator. She is perky and upbeat, and goes at the narration with all the gusto of the trained professional entertainer that she is; five stars. The story, on the other hand, I generously give a two star rating. I didn’t totally hate the book, that would be a one star rating, but I will not listen to this book again and I cannot recommend it to anyone else. If I had paid for this book instead of having received it free of charge I would be asking Audible for money or my credit back.

View all my reviews

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Audio Books, Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

