Review of “The Call of Cthulhu” by H.P. Lovecraft and Narrated by K. Anderson Yancy, Kevin Yancy and Joseph Vitaliano Jr.

The Call of CthulhuThe Call of Cthulhu by H.P. Lovecraft
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is my first H.P. Lovecraft story and I loved it. It sent chills up and down my spine, made the hair on my neck stand on end and all those good creepy things. I can’t wait for my next Lovecraft story.

However I have some issues with the narration. I loved the sound effects and creepy demonic voices that made my toes curl.

However, I was reading along with the eBook on my Kindle app and saw many occasions where the narrator skipped entire sentences and parts of other sentences. In many cases he used the completely wrong word or totally mispronounced the correct word. In many MANY cases he is speaking so fast that there is barely any pause, if any, between sentences. This made it difficult to follow along and was the reason I broke down and bought the eBook so I could follow along.

After getting the eBook I completely started over with chapter 1 so that I would be up to date. When I have to go buy the eBook and start the recording over that is not a good thing. I want to be able to clearly follow the narrator as he or she is performing so I can be immersed in the story. I shouldn’t have to go and buy the book so I can follow along and keep up.

On the plus side, I absolutely loved the tone Kevin Yancey’s voice that he used. It added to the macabreness of the story. Now if he would just slow down, enunciate his words, use the correct words and use the correct pronunciation of words he would be a great narrator whom I would buy again

I give the Story 5 Stars, the narrator 3 Stars and an overall score of 4 Stars.

I received this book from the publisher via Audiobook Blast in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Audio Books, Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

