Review of “Failure” by John Everson and Narrated by Joe Hempel

FailureFailure by John Everson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was not too sure about this one because it started out with mostly cursing and loud flowery speech. I am not too crazy about obscene language, so I was kind of shocked. But the longer I listened the more hooked I became.

John Everson knows how to write a horror story that will shock and terrify the reader.

I will say that if you absolutely cannot stand the profuse use of profanity then do not listen to this book. If shocking descriptions of ritualistic sex and murder and death bother you then by no means listen to this book. If you are at all squeamish about the use of drugs and sex and lots of blood then this book is not for you. But if you like to be shocked and horrified and none of these things cause you to lose sleep then you will most likely enjoy this short story.

Joe Hempel does a fine job of narrating this book. He gets all of the voices just right. Emotions are in the right places, and when Sal tries to scream and it only comes out as a horse whisper Joe Hempel’s voice for the character is right on the money. I will most definitely be looking for other books narrated by him just to see if this was a fluke or if he is consistently the professional he was in Failure. I really enjoyed listening to him in this book.

I received this audiobook from the narrator in exchange for an honest review, and honestly I really liked it.

View all my reviews

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Audio Books, Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

