Review of Operation Nimrod by Russell Philips and Narrated by Phillip J. Mather

Operation Nimrod: The Iranian Embassy SiegeOperation Nimrod: The Iranian Embassy Siege by Russell Phillips
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was not so much a novelization of Operation Nimrod that took place in late April and early May 1980 in London, England just days after the failed American attempt to rescue the hostages at the American Embassy in Tehran, Iran as it was a blow by blow account of police efforts to end the hostage situation at the Iranian embassy in London and the subsequent mission by the British SAS that finally did rescue the hostages there.

The book is well researched as nearly as I can tell, and I learned much from it. There are not really any characters to speak about. Many names are mentioned during the course of the book but none of them come across as characters like you would have in a novel. I see that there are other books by this author listed. I could be tempted to listen them. As good as this book was I would like to see what Russell Philips could do with a novel of intrigue.

Phillip J. Mather did not really give a performance so much as he just read the book. I felt like I was listening to grandfather reading me a story from a history book. He also has a very deep bass voice that I find hard to listen to. Hence my low rating for his “Performance.”

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Audio Books, Book Reviews, Personal Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

