Review of “Seveneves” by Neal Stephenson and Narrated by Mary Robinette Kowal and Will Damron

SevenevesSeveneves by Neal Stephenson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

As much as I really wanted to love this book, alas, it just was not to be. To begin with I did enjoy it; that’s why I gave it three stars. I didn’t hate it. I just didn’t love it.

I was warned back when people first started listening to it that this was not the right book to be my first Neal Stephenson book. Anathem or Snow Crash were suggested for that role. I bought all three but had not had time to start listening to them until the first of September. A Goodreads group I am in picked this volume to be one of their group reads of the month. So I decided to go ahead and listen to it so I could join in the discussion. That was not a good move.

My problem is really with the first part of the book narrated by Mary Robinette Kowal. Her performance is wonderful, and I don’t really understand why it was necessary to have two narrators for the book; one for part one and one for part two which begins 5000 years later. She could have done both parts just fine. No! My problem is with all the info dumping in part one. There is so much of it that the story gets lost among all the techno mumbo jumbo. It totally pulled me out of the story line and made it difficult for me to follow along. Had I been reading a tree book I would have simply skimmed over those parts to get past them. Unfortunately, that is easier said than done with an audiobook.

When we get to part two narrated by Will Damron the story seems to move along much more quickly, although I may have to go back and relisten to the last two chapters. I am afraid I missed some of it getting distracted by other things I needed to get done before bed time. Still, I very much enjoyed part two of the book which is why I bumped up the story to a 3 star rating from a 2 star rating. Will Damron was also an excellent choice for a narrator and could just as easily have narrated the entire book. If I give Mary Robinette Kowal 5 stars then Will Damron is very easily a 4.8 star narrator.

This will not be my last Neal Stephenson book. I have three others including Anathem, Reamde and Snow Crash. Like everyone else who warned me I now warn the reader. If this is your first Neal Stephenson book you might want to start with one of the others and then get this one.

View all my reviews

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Audio Books, Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review of “Seveneves” by Neal Stephenson and Narrated by Mary Robinette Kowal and Will Damron

  1. nrlymrtl says:

    As much as I enjoy Neal Stephenson’s books you are definitely right about the info dumping. I wouldn’t suggest Ananthem as a place to start, though Cryptonomicon is excellent.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t have that one. I have Anathem, Snow Crash, and Reamde. I didn’t have enough credits to get Cryptonomicon before I cancelled my membership due to the overwhelming number of unread books I to listen to. Any suggestions as to which of those three books I should listen to next?

    Like

  3. Seveneves is on the modern end of the spectrum of Neal’s writing and Snow Crash is on the early end. Snow Crash is much faster paced, Anathem may be the more complete book. You can’t really go wrong.

    Like

Leave a Reply

