Review of “Joe4” by Salem and Narrated by Salem

Joe4Joe4 by Salem
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I received this audiobook from the author/narrator in exchange for an honest review, and honestly I loved the story and hated his narration of it. I mean it kind of sounds to me like a bad imitation of William Shatner if he was losing his voice.

I cannot say enough good things about the story itself. Joe4 is a well developed character who quits his job with a major corporation whose owner is so paranoid that he places 24/7 surveillance on employees who leave the company for at least 10 years. Joe4’s dream is to write music full time, and he is quite the hit machine. He is so good that he has written practically every top ten hit for the past year and a half. A performer known as DJU hires him to write music for him on a full-time basis paying him a hefty 7 figure salary and buying him his dream home out in the desert southwest where he can work undisturbed.

When DJU suddenly dies, his record company wants Joe4 to write all the music for what will be billed at DJU’s final album, which he agrees to do. In the meantime others are scheming to get to Joe4 first and claim the album for themselves so they can sell it for a fortune on the black market.

From talking dogs, to aliens, to paranoid former employers to all of the wonderful things that make Joe4 a wonderful sci-fi story, Joe4 is a story should not be missed. I would read it in print though. Skip the audio version unless you just don’t mind choppy reading by an author who sounds like he is losing his voice. If this story were to be rerecorded with a professional narrator with lots of experience with this type of story then I would be inclined to recommend this as an audiobook. Salem’s narration just falls short of the mark.

View all my reviews

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review of “Joe4” by Salem and Narrated by Salem

  1. nrlymrtl says:

    I also really enjoyed this story. It kind of had that Blade Runner movie feel to it while Joe4 was in the crowded city. Couple that with the natural desert isolation for the last quarter of the book, and it had a great atmosphere. I also found Joe4 to be a very interesting character.

    Unfortunately, I also agree about the audio. The narration was not professionally done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

