A Darker Shade of Magic (A Darker Shade of Magic, #1)A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

“Genre is outside my comfort zone but I loved it!”
This genre of book is way outside of my comfort zone. I have only listened to one other fantasy and only gave it three stars. But V.E. Schwab did an amazing job on this book.

The setting is London, but it is London in four parallel worlds; Gray London, Red London, White London and Black London exist in four different planes of reality. Only those magicians known as Antari can move between them, and there are only two known Antari; one in Red London, Kell, and one in White London, Holland.

Kell meets Lila, a thief and pickpocket, while in Gray London when she picks his pocket and steals a black stone known only as Vitari. Lila has no idea what it is or what it can do, but when Kell comes looking for it she only reluctantly gives it back to him under duress. When Holland comes to Gray London looking for the stone Lila and Kell’s paths become intertwined. It seems they are destined to work together to get the stone back to the only place it will be safe; Black London.

Kell is on a mission to dispose of the Vitari while Lila is simply looking for an adventure, but soon it becomes clear that there is much more going on between the two.

Schwab does an awesome of job of character and world building in A Darker Shade of Magic, and Steven Crossley is the perfect narrator for this book with believable voices for each character.

I cannot wait for the sequel which comes out in February 2016. I want to find out more about Lila and Kell and see where their relationship takes them next.

I received this book courtesy of the Ford Audiobook Club Group.

View all my reviews

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

