Review of In the End: A Pre-Apocolypse Novel, Book One” Written by Edward M. Wolfe and Narrated by Christopher James Young

In The End - Book One

Overall 3 Stars

Performance 2 Stars

Story 3 Stars

“One plot with four sub-plots that converge.”
Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

It was interesting. I doubt I will listen to it again because of the poor quality of the narration, but the story was worth the time. Unlike the last book I listened to, I don’t regret the time I took to listen to this one.

Would you be willing to try another one of Christopher James Young’s performances?

Mr Young’s narration was poor in that I honestly think I could have done a better job. The quality of the editing was extremely poor in that there were several places where audio was spliced in that sounded like it had been recorded on an old fashioned tape recorder years ago. It happened so often I began to wonder if this was done on purpose, but I couldn’t find a common thread that would have tied them all together. I will end up listening to at least one more book that Mr. Young narrates, though, because I want to find out what happens to all of the characters who finally came together in that last hour of the book.

Was In the End worth the listening time?

This just seems to be a rephrasing of the first question so I will say that it was worth the five-and-a-half hours it took to listen to the book.

Any additional comments?

I only gave the story three stars because I thought the writing was pretty simplistic. It sounded like a long version of something I might have written for a high school English composition. That isn’t necessarily a bad thing, it just means that I expect writers to do a better job than I could.

As I said in my headline, there is one big plot (the nuking of Denver, CO) and four sub-plots that don’t converge until the last 20% of the book. Once everyone comes together, though, they all work together to survive.

This is the first book in the series. The last chapter of this book is actually the first three chapters of the next book in the series which, according to the narrator, should be available now. I won’t spoil the ending of book one by telling you anything about book two, but this story was good enough that I want to find out what happens next. I can’t say that about the last book I listened to.

I received this audio book from that author in exchange for an honest review.

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Audio Books, Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

