Review of “Guidebook to Murder” by Lynn Cahoon and Narrated by Susan Boyce

Guidebook to Murder Cover Art

“Loved the Story but the narrator is a bit slow.”

Overall 4 Stars
 Performance 3 Stars
 Story 4 Stars

I have read so many books in the past that called themselves murder mysteries where you knew almost from the very beginning who was murdered and who did it. Then the police or PI spend the rest of the book trying to prove who done it and how.

This book was a breath of fresh air for me in that you knew early on that Miss Emily was the victim but there was a long list of possible suspects, and in the end it was quite a surprise who the killer was.

The thing that I didn’t really like was that the police (Greg) and the amateur sleuth (Jill) never quite figure out the killer was. How the murder was done is revealed about 2/3 of the way through the book using normal police procedures, but the actual killer reveals him/herself at the end in the next to last chapter. It would have been much more satisfying to have Jill and Greg figure out the killer was, but then that’s just me.

The narrator, Susan Boyce, was not awful, but I thought she spoke a bit too slowly for my taste. I ended up have to use the speed button and up the speed to 1.25. That was a good listening speed for me. I was still able to follow the story easily and it picked up the pace just the right amount. I did like the tone of her voice. It was pleasant to listen to.

For the above stated reason regarding the killer I did not give this book 5 stars. I gave it 4 because I felt a little let down at the end. Still it was a very good book and I can’t wait for the next book, “Mission to Murder”. I will no doubt be listening to that one as well. Luckily I won’t have to wait long since it too is available from Audible.

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Audio Books, Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

