Review of “Island of Fog” by Keith Robinson and Narrated by Fred Wolinsky

“Excellent book for middle school students!”

Overall 4 Stars
Performance 4 Stars
Story 4 Stars
Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I would indeed recommend this book to a friend. In fact I have a friend or two who teach middle school that I hope to make aware of this book. Keith Robinson does a fine job of creating a fantasy world where mythical creatures come to life in a world overrun by death and disease and manages to give the reader hope that in the end things are going to be alright.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Island of Fog, Book 1?

For me the most memorable moment is when the children all come to terms with the fact that they are changing not into monsters but into heroes. They know they will never be the same, but that’s alright because they are becoming more than they ever thought possible.

Which character – as performed by Fred Wolinsky – was your favorite?

I think Hal is my favorite character. He seems to have the most difficulty with the changes he is going through, but ends up being the one who changes the most. He seems to be the most scared by what he is going through, but when push comes to shove he shows himself to be the most brave.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I did not. There were a few places where I laughed a little, but there were no really emotional moments for me.

Any additional comments?

I emailed Fred Wolinsky to let him know that I was enjoying the book but found many of the voices, especially the children’s, rather cartoonish. He said that was the way that the author wanted them done so mission accomplished. Fred, bless his heart, could do a perfect Tigger in a Winnie the Pooh movie. I think he was perfect for this book and should do the rest of the series. I believe that older elementary school students up through middle school would love this audiobook.

I received this audiobook from the narrator in exchange for a fair review.

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Audio Books, Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review of “Island of Fog” by Keith Robinson and Narrated by Fred Wolinsky

  1. nrlymrtl says:

    I have this one in my to-be-reviewed queue as well. Glad to hear that it is worthy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

