Review of “The Book of Life” by Deborah Harkness and Narrated by Jennifer Ikeda

Overall 4 Stars
Performance 5 Stars
Story 3.75 Stars
Not the best volume of the series
Would you listen to The Book of Life again? Why?

Yes I would! I would especially listen to it again if I were going to relisten to the entire series. It is good series, well written.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Book of Life?

I really enjoyed seeing Peter Knox drained first of power and then of life. It was a long time coming. Watching Diana take down Benjamin as well was just icing on the cake.

What does Jennifer Ikeda bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

I love Jennifer Ikeda’s narration. She brings such passion to her reading. I have heard far too many narrators who sounded like they were just reading words of a page with no passion or feeling or any hint that they knew what the book was about much less enjoyed reading it. Ikeda is wonderful. When someone is suffering pain you feel their pain. When they are confused you feel their confusion. When they are happy or filled with joy you celebrate with them. I love listening to Jennifer Ikeda. She is one of my favorite narrators.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

I would have to really think about this one. The answer to this question is a bit outside my skill level.

Any additional comments?

This book was only about a 3.75 stars at best for me. The first book, A Discovery of Witches, really set the bar high as far as I am concerned, and this book just didn’t reach that level. I am happy with the way it ended. Deborah Harkness tied up the loose ends nicely. Characters I did not like before I ended up liking before the end of the book, or at least respecting them. The two characters I really despised got everything that was coming to them in the end and then some so I was happy about that. The problem with the book is that Harkness just took so long getting to the point and wrapping it up. I got bored more than once with so much narrative that didn’t really add that much to the story. It just dragged and dragged in many places. The last 20% of the book was the best part. You reach that point and say “FInally! Things are starting to happen!”

I did enjoy the book! I really did! I just wanted Harkness to move things along faster. I believe I gave the first book 5 stars, but this one, as I said was really less than 4 stars. However, you can’t rate a book 3.75 stars so I had to round it up.

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Audio Books, Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

