Review of “Dracula” by Bram Stoker and Narrated by Alan Cumming , Tim Curry , Simon Vance , Katherine Kellgren , Susan Duerden , John Lee , Graeme Malcolm , Steven Crossley

Overall 5 Stars

Performance 4 Stars

Story 5 Stars

 

There is not much I can say about the book that hasn’t been said already!

 

The narration is another issue.

All of the actors are first rate to be very sure. They did a remarkable job of acting as their individual characters. It never sounded like they were narrating but that they were always acting.

The problem I have is with the script. I like to read the book as I listen, but I kept getting lost in the text because the narrators kept using the wrong word (come instead of came, for instance). They would add words, phrases and complete sentences that were not even into the text, or they would leave out the same. This made it difficult to follow along, and it happened way too often for it to have been anything other than the script.

Still, it was very enjoyable and professionally done and was worth way more than what I paid for it. I strongly recommend this version of Dracula despite how many are available on Audible.

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Audio Books, Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

