Review of “Like Mayflies in a Stream” by Shauna Roberts and Narrated by Hollie Jackson

Overall 4 Stars

Performance 3 Stars

Story 4 Stars

 

“Really good story but narrator not my favorite!”
Would you listen to Like Mayflies in a Stream again? Why?

Yes! I will most likely listen to this audiobook again when I finally get caught up on the backlog audiobooks I already have (over 500 hours worth). This is an excellent story set in Mesopotamia during the time of Gilgamesh the king. I can’t pronounce most of the characters names but it is quite nicely written.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Like Mayflies in a Stream?

probably the most memorable moment for me was the death of Inkydoo. He finally humbled King Gilgamesh, just not the way everyone was expecting.

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

I’ve slept some since finishing this audiobook so it is kind of difficult for me to be specific here. I just thought the narrator could have done a better job. I like her voice so that made it easier to listen to, but her pacing was kind of off at times.

Who was the most memorable character of Like Mayflies in a Stream and why?

Without a doubt it has to be Inkydoo. He starts out as wild desert nomad who kills lions with his bare hands and ends up the humble, lovable and innocent love of Shamahut the priestess who tamed him.

Any additional comments?

I really did enjoy this book! It moved a little slow in places, but that can be said for most books. I think if I listen to any more books written by Shauna Roberts I would like to hear from other narrators, though

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Audio Books, Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review of “Like Mayflies in a Stream” by Shauna Roberts and Narrated by Hollie Jackson

  1. nrlymrtl says:

    This one is on my TBR list. I really enjoyed the author’s other book Claimed by the Enemy, which is also historical fiction set in ancient Mesopotamia.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

