Review of “Clay: Halfskin, Book 2” by Toni Bertauski and Narrated by David Dietz

Overall 3 Stars
Performance 3 Stars
Story 4 Stars
“Story was better but still not a fan of narrator!”
Where does Clay rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Definitely in the bottom half. It is better storywise than the first book in the series but still not a big fan of David Dietz narration.

What other book might you compare Clay to and why?

The obvious answer here is “Halfskin” since it is the first book in the series. I didn’t like the way the cliff hanger ending closed out the first book. I wish the protagonists MCs in this book had not had to die in the end, but it was still a much better story than Halfskin and I don’t know how else the author could have ended it.

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

It is kind of difficult to put my finger on it. I think a lot has to do with the fact that I am just not fan of his voice. He doesn’t actually do anything that makes me not like him as a narrator, and there is little if anything that he can do about his voice. I just gravitate more toward female narrators or male narrators who have more tenor in the voice.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Absolutely not! First, I can not sit through anything for 8 hours in one sitting except work, and I don’t like having to sit there for that. Second, as I have already stated I am not a fan of David Dietz narration, so that makes me want to break it up over several sittings.

Any additional comments?

I might enjoy both this book and Halfskin more with a different narrator, although I really doubt it. I can’t recommend this audiobook to anyone. I have no doubt that it would someone’s cup of tea, but it is not mine.

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Audio Books, Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

