Review of “The Shadow of Night” by Deborah Harkness – Audio Book

Overall 5 Stars
Performance 4 Stars
Story 5 Stars
“Can’t wait ’til I can get “The Book of Life””
What made the experience of listening to Shadow of Night the most enjoyable?

I loved being able to read the book along with the narration. It just made the reading so much more enjoyable and the story easy to follow. I love the narrators voice. She did try to use voice characterizations but did not try to go overboard.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Shadow of Night?

For me the most memorable moment of the story is when Diana’s father, who died when she was 7 years old, shows up in London at the same time she and Matthew are there. I would love to be able to time walk back to an earlier time and meet my father, also dead from Alzheimer’s, and be able to spend to more time with him.

Have you listened to any of Jennifer Ikeda’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

I have not listened to any of her other performances, although I do intend to when I listen to “The Book of Life” which is the final book in the All Souls trilogy. One thing that irritated me about the narration is her insistence on using contractions when it is not written that way in the book. Instead of “had not” she would say “hadn’t”. Instead of “could not” she would say “couldn’t”. And on and on.Sometimes she just plain uses the wrong word. For example in one sentence something is described as “exotic” and she says the word “erotic”. Two totally different things.Still I enjoyed listening to her read. She has wonderful voice for narrating these books, and I am sure I will enjoy listening to her as she narrates the other two books in the series.

If you could rename Shadow of Night, what would you call it?

The phrase “shadow of night” is used a few times in the book (usually in a poetic sense). However, the phrase “school of night” is used several more times to refer to Matthew and his close circle of friends which included Sir Walter Raleigh, Christopher Marlowe and Thomas Harriot, among others. If I were going to pick a different name for the book it would definitely be “The School of Night”.

Any additional comments?

I am a big fan of Deborah Harkness. I love her writing style, her character development and her world building. I have put her on my automatic buy list where I automatically buy anything new that she writes. There were some technical issues with this audiobook, but none of them took anything away from the story or my enjoyment of it. This entire series is, in my opinion, a must read for lovers of paranormal romance.

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

