Review of “Someone Tell Aunt Tillie She’s Dead” by Christiana Miller

“Loved this book! Looking forward to the next one!”

Overall 5 Stars
Performance 4 Stars
Story 5 Stars
What made the experience of listening to Somebody Tell Aunt Tillie She’s Dead the most enjoyable?

I loved the story! I could relate to Mara’s run of bad luck and Gus’ snarkyness! The narrator was wonderful too. I loved her voice.

What other book might you compare Somebody Tell Aunt Tillie She’s Dead to and why?

I would compare this book to the Demon Hunting Soccer Mom series by Julie Kenner. The difference between them is Mara is a witch (although sometimes reluctantly) and the protagonist in Julie Kenner’s books is a retired demon hunter who reluctantly gets sucked back into it when a demon follows her home from Walmart one afternoon.

What about Marie Rose’s performance did you like?

As I said above, I love her voice. It is so well suited for narrating this book.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

I can’t say I was particularly “moved” by anything. I found the story to be amusing, and at times downright funny. I laughed in several spots.

Any additional comments?

I was never bored listening to this book. I listened to the whole thing over a couple of days since I can’t sit still for over 8 hours a time (not that I had the time to do it – there are other things that must be done throughout the day).

If I had one criticism for the book it would be in the editing of the sound. Very often you will be listening to Marie Rose reading a passage when her voice would change to sound more muted as if they were editing in a retake of a particular passage or sentence and it would almost sound like it was done on a cheap tape recorder on an old tape. It could be distracting at times, but at no time did Marie Rose’s narration take one thing from the story. She was wonderful.

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review of “Someone Tell Aunt Tillie She’s Dead” by Christiana Miller

  1. This book sounds really interesting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

