Review of “Milk Blood” by Mark Matthews

“Not a bad story but very dark!”

Overall 3 Stars
 
Performance 3 Stars
 
Story 3 Stars

I had to listen to this story twice because the first time I listened to it I had way too many distractions and missed most of it.

The second listen I got relaxed in a quiet room and did nothing else but listen. I am glad I did for this was a very dark story of drug abuse by pretty much every active character in the book with some horror thrown in towards the end for good measure.

The narrator could have been better. He sounded like a white man trying to do the voices of what sounded like black characters. Most of his character voices sounded more or less the same and it was difficult at times for me to follow who was talking unless it was Lily, the only female character to speak. Even the pitch of her voice was different depending on who she was talking to and when. sometimes it was high and squeaky and other times more mature sounding.

I am glad that I received this audiobook for free in exchange for an honest review because I would hate to think I had had to pay for it. The narrator did not do justice to what was otherwise an engaging story. I really feel that a better narrator would have made a huge difference in the story. I don’t see myself buying any audio books narrated by Mr. Wohlert.

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Audio Books, Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

