Review of Halfskin – an Audio Book

“I didn’t like the way this book ended!”
Overall 3 Stars
Performance 3 Stars
Story 3 Stars

Is there anything you would change about this book?
I don’t mind cliff hangers in a book that set up the next book in the series, but this one left me totally hanging having resolved nothing. There was no sense of closure for this book. Lots of questions but no answers1

Would you be willing to try another book from Tony Bertauski? Why or why not?
I might be willing to listen to another book, but if the next one ends as badly as this one did, I doubt there will be a third book of his that I read or listen to.

Was Halfskin worth the listening time?
Yes and no! I was not at all crazy about this book. I would most likely return it but I received it for free from the narrator (who was the one saving grace for this audio book). I don’t think it was a fair first book to listen to of David Dietz because the material he had to work with with was not all that good.

Any additional comments?
My chief complaint about David Dietz’s narration is that he use the same voice for multiple characters. The only reason he got away with it was because the characters never spoke to each other so it was not difficult to tell who was doing the talking. Personally, I would rather narrators use no different voices at all and just read what the characters are saying to each other, but that is just a personal preference.

I received this book from the narrator in exchange for an honest review!

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review of Halfskin – an Audio Book

  1. nrlymrtl says:

    That is interesting that you prefer a narrator to not use different voices but to rather just read the book out loud. I have heard this opinion before and when I first started listening to audiobooks, I picked a few that had rather silly voice performances. So, back then I would have agreed with you. Since then, however, I have found several narrators I like who do very well in distinct voice characterizations.

    Like

Leave a Reply

