Outlining Your Novel – Mapping Your Way to Success by K.M. Weiland

I love this book. Granted it is the first book I have ever read about how to outline a novel or other book so I don’t really have anything to compare it to. Still I feel the book is well written and filled with good advice and helpful information on how to outline a novel. I see many tips and tricks to outlining that I have seen on various websites and blogs so I know she has done her homework.

Even though she includes many examples from her own work I would have liked to see a bit more, but I can’t really fault her for it. The examples that Weiland gives are very useful.

I will be buying the workbook to go with this book, and I see myself re-reading it over and over again as I prepare my own novel outline.

Probably the one thing I will do differently from what she suggests is that I will do my rough outline in Scrivener for a number of reasons that I won’t go into here because this is about Outlining Your Novel and not about the benefits of using Scrivener to the outline. Weiland suggests handwriting your rough outline and character and setting outlines as she does. This won’t work for me because when it comes time to write the working outline from the rough outline is going to be very hard for me to read my own handwriting. Besides using Scrivener will allow me to write my scenes and synopses on virtual index cards on a virtual corkboard and easily move them around and arrange them and insert new index cards where they need to go when inspiration strikes and I don’t have to try to read my own handwriting on them.

I also plan to read her other book “Structuring Your Novel” as well as the free e-book from her website on how to develop your characters.

Once again I loved, Loved, LOVED this book and will use it over and over again.

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Uncategorized, Writing Craft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

