Take Control of Scrivener 2 Review

I am not a big fan of this book. Notice the cover shot. It says “NOW COVERS Scrivener 2 for Mac OS X and Scrivener 1 for Windows” I bought the book from Literature and Latte at the same time that I downloaded the Scrivener for Windows (Sorry Amazon I won’t let that happen again, but if it makes you feel any better I ended purchasing the Scrivener for Windows books by Karen Prince and Ivan Pope from Amazon 2 days later).

The reader assumes that what they are reading applies to both Mac and Windows versions unless told otherwise. Problem is the entire book applies to the Mac version of the program, but over and over again the readers reads long passages about features that sound great only to be told that the feature is not found in the Windows version of the program.

I paid $10.00 for the book (although the download file contained the PDF, ePub and mobi files for the book and not just the Kindle version) and wish to high heavens I could get my money back, because it was SO not worth it. I have gotten more out of the the books for Scrivener users I bought from Amazon and paid less than $10.00 for both books combined including tax.

If you are a Scrivener 2 user on the Mac then go ahead and spend the $7.00 for this book. It will probably help you a lot. But if you are a Windows users like me, don’t waste your money. Buy the books Scrivener Essentials: A Quick Start Visual Guide for Windows Users by Karen Prince and/or Scrivener for Writers (Windows) by Ivan Pope both available as Kindle downloads from Amazon and far more useful.

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Uncategorized, Writing Craft. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

