I gave The Vanishing Game by William Boyd 1 star and that’s only because there was no way to give it a rating of less than zero stars!

I was not overly fond of this book. I started reading it over a month ago and just got around to finishing it.

As thrillers go it was much less than thrilling. It can’t be classified as a mystery, unless you count finding out what is in the vial that the protagonist is carrying.

I was so bored with this book that I can’t remember the name of the main character. . .something Dunbar I think it was. The whole premise of the book is that a struggling actor goes to an audition in London and doesn’t get the part. However, he does meet a woman who calls herself Stella who offers him 1000 Pounds to take what she says is a vial of Holy Water from London to an out of the way town on the coast of Scotland to deliver to a person whom she says is her relative at a church named St. Mungo’s. The vial must be at St. Mungo’s within 24 hours or less.

Dunbar accepts the job and has what amounts to a minor adventure on his way to deliver the vial.

There is some minor intrigue as he discovers two bodies in the church only to return an hour later with two police officers and find that the bodies are gone and absolutely no sign that they were ever there or how they were removed.

Until the bad guys track Dunbar down to retrieve the vial from him nothing really interesting happens. Come to think of it, even AFTER they track him down to retrieve the vial nothing really interesting happens.

I just really did not like this book. It might be some readers cup of tea, but it certainly wasn’t mine. My advice is, it might be worth reading IF you can get it for free and IF you have absolutely nothing else to read.

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

