Review of Blind Man’s Wolf by Amelia Faulkner

I gave this book a 5 out 5 Star Rating

I loved this book. I love a good romance but I don’t love a lot of gratuitous sex. Sex should ADD to the story not be the focus of the story. I loved this book because the two main characters, Randall and Ellis, didn’t even share their first kiss until I was finished with 42% of the book. The story was about Randall, a werewolf with a confidence problem, and Ellis, a night-blind vampire who has to use a seeing eye dog to get around.

Randall and Ellis meet when Ellis thinks his dog, Tiberius, is acting out and needs some retraining. Randall answers the call and a relationship ensues. The book is about the relationship between the two men and how it develops over the course of about a week or so.

They couldn’t be any more different yet they develop a relationship that seems truly as if it was meant to be.

If I have any complaints it is just that Amelia Faulkner goes out of her way to tell us that Ellis has no heartbeat and only breathes if necessary to take in oxygen so he can speak. However, when Randall and Ellis do finally get around to having anal sex Randall remarks as to how large Ellis is and how deep he feels him inside. This left me with a question. In order for a male to become erect blood must flow into sacs in the penis and fill them. This means the blood must actually be flowing. But if Ellis’ heart doesn’t beat then that means no blood is flowing and therefore cannot fill the penis so he becomes erect and can therefore penetrate Randall. So how is it possible for Ellis to become erect when his blood does not flow?

Still this is a minor detail and takes nothing away from a wonderful story I would recommend to anyone who likes paranormal romance and/or GLBT stories. If I were making this book into a movie I would rate it a hard R and give it two thumbs up.

About Jeffrey Owens

Not much to tell. I am married and have a daughter and a grandson. I am an aspiring writer. I am a devout Pentecostal. I love football, NHRA professional drag racing, baseball and sometimes hockey. I sing and play guitar and write songs.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

